Nashville Health Care Council Announces Additions to Board of Directors

Courtesy of the Nashville Health Care Council

The Nashville Health Care Council announces the appointment of new and renewing members to its 2015-2016 board of directors. William Gracey, president and CEO, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee, will serve as chairman of the board for a two-year term. Gracey, the board’s former vice chairman, succeeds William F. Carpenter III, chairman and CEO, LifePoint Health, who served as Council chairman from 2013 to 2015, and who remains on the board as a director. C. Wright Pinson, M.D., deputy vice chancellor, health affairs and CEO, Vanderbilt Health System, was selected to begin a two-year term as vice chairman of the board.

 Click here to view headshots of the new and renewing Council board members.

Click here to view a list of the full Council board.

“The Council’s role in supporting and enhancing Nashville’s health care industry is important now more than ever. I look forward to collaborating and working alongside other industry leaders to advance the organization’s mission and further establish Nashville’s position as the nation’s health care industry capital,” Gracey said.

New and renewing at-large directors include Neil de Crescenzo, president and CEO, emdeon; Samuel N. Hazen, COO, HCA; Debbie James, president and CEO, Vivere; Rita Johnson-Mills, president and CEO, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Tennessee; Mike Schatzlein, M.D., president and CEO, Saint Thomas Health; and Wayne T. Smith, chairman and CEO, Community Health Systems.

Nine new directors are joining the board for one-year terms:

Sara Butler, vice president, architecture, Goodwin Mills Cawood; Bob Crutchfield, general partner, Harbert Venture Partners; John A. Deane, president, Advisory Board Consulting and Management, A Division of The Advisory Board Company; Craig Herrod, president, MEDHOST; M. Eric Johnson, dean, Vanderbilt University’s Owen Graduate School of Management; Julie Watson Lampley, partner, Butler | Snow; Scott Mackenzie, CEO, M*Modal; Ron Samuels, chairman and CEO, Avenue Bank; and Brian Sanderson, national managing partner, health care, Crowe Horwath.

Anna-Gene O’Neal
, president and CEO, Alive Hospice, has been elected to the board for a one-year term. She serves in a director seat for an outstanding alumnus of the Council Fellows initiative.

In addition, Benson Sloan, director, corporate development, MEDHOST, and chairman of the Council’s Leadership Health Care initiative, was elected to serve a one-year term on the board.

“These new directors bring to our board a wide array of experience and fresh perspective, building upon what is already an exceptional group,” said Hayley Hovious, Council president. “I look forward to working with the board of directors to continue to support Nashville’s health care industry and provide our members with the vital information necessary to help their businesses thrive and grow.”

Connect With the Chamber